Back in Black – Work

IMG_0453

Dressing for work can be hard at the best of times. You want to be professional, but you still want to be you. There is a fine line that can be a little blurry in some office environments.

I remember my very first day in a super corporate office at the tender age of 20. I was expecting to walk into an office of 40+ year old males, so I played it safe and turned up in a matching grey suit with a crisp white shirt. From day one I knew this wasn’t the level of dress expected from me. I started to mix it up with trendier pieces and bright colours and 4 years down the track I was constantly pushing the envelope with what I wore to work.

If you are new to the corporate world I believe it’s best to start conservative and slowly suss out what is acceptable in your office and there is nothing safer than all black.

It’s definitely worth investing in a great black blazer and pencil skirt – whether you currently work in an corporate office or not. They are truly timeless and can be worn with a myriad of things to a range of occasions. When I say “investing” I mean taking the time to find the one that’s right for you, not necessarily money. This black Cue blazer has been my go to for many years now and was given to me in a bag of hand-me-downs from a family friend (the same one my leggings were from in my Sporty post) and the pencil skirt I picked up in an opshop for $6 when I first started working.

Once you have these two items there is so much you can do make it work all year round. Check out this pinterest board for some inspiration.

Screen Shot 2017-06-04 at 12.33.32 pm

I’m a huge fan of a satin frill front shirt (examples here and here) over a traditional button up shirt. I love the flow and the contrast of texture, making an all black outfit like this feel a little less mono-toned. It’s also the easiest part of this look to add a bit of a colour or pattern to. I have quite a collection of this style of top in a range of colours and patterns that I have collected over the last 5 years, but depending on your work environment you could switch this up with anything from a cute jumper to a cool vintage t-shirt.

After spending over 4 years doing 9 to 5 I have amassed quite a substantial work wardrobe with blazers and pencil skirts in a range of colours and patterns. Find what works for you and your specific environment and make it yours.

IMG_0455IMG_0456IMG_0452

2 thoughts on “Back in Black – Work

  1. Pingback: Get the Look – Working Suits Me | EK's Daily Dress

  2. Pingback: On the Flip Side | EK's Daily Dress

Leave a Reply

