Happy Hour with Helen – Public House

IMG_0573

I just started a new job and on my first day I was lucky to finish up at around 2pm. What was I to do with an afternoon off? Of course I called up my dear friend, and regular drinking buddy, Helen.

Helen conveniently lives in Richmond, a suburb thats on my train trip home and is home to a bevy of amazing bars. On this particular day we decided to try out Public House on Church Street.

Although the staff were clearly mid pow wow when we walked in, they showed no annoyance or judgement when we ordered our first drink before 3pm on a Tuesday.

We sat in the semi enclosed outdoor area which was a nice middle ground of being outside, but not freezing our little butts of in the harsh Melbourne winter weather.

Apparently it can be quite hopping on a Friday or Saturday night, but for a casual mid-week afternoon drink it hard a very cool and chilled vibe, exactly what we were after.

Assessment:

Drinks:
4 stars – They were nice and pretty average Melbourne prices.

Food:
We didn’t eat any, but their menu looks delish!

Vibe:
I’ll save judgement on this one until I go there on a Friday or Saturday night, but the company was top notch.

All round:
3½ stars – reasonable drinks and friendly staff, but the decor could do with a bit of an update.

IMG_0570IMG_0572

Leave a Reply

